Around Town: Icy Fun

High up in the mountains, winter has already arrived with snow blanketing the landscape. We are so lucky in Crabapple Crossings to have a winter wonderland within easy travelling distance. The youngsters especially enjoy the skating rink.

ice-rink

We captured Winifred Whitetail and Fiona Firefox out on the ice.

“I’m learning how to skate backwards,” Miss Firefox explained. “I keep falling on my tail, but I’m having lots of fun.”

“My favorite part of skating is doing spins,” Miss Whitetail said. “I love ice skating.”

ice-rink-3

When asked if she was cold without her coat, Miss Whitetail explained that got too hot with the vigorous exercise of ice skating. “I put it back on as soon as I’m done! I don’t want to get frostbite!”

 

After a bit of a hiatus, I am back with this round of Iron Craft. The theme this time was “I is for…” so we were to come up with a project that used the letter I in terms of materials, subject, or technique. Brainstorming “I” projects was a bit of a challenge. I could barely think of anything fun that started with that letter! Finally, I settled on “I for ice rink.”

ice-rink-2

This project was actually quite simple once I settled on my theme. I started by finding a white styrofoam wreath base and a round craft mirror that was larger than the wreath’s inside diameter, but smaller than it’s outside diameter.

Using a knife, I cut the wreath base in half so that it would sit solidly on the mirror. I then painted the wreath base with some “Snow-Tex” textured paint. It was kind of weird stuff. It has almost a mousse-like texture. And because the styrofoam is quite slick, it was a bit difficult to get the textural portion of it to adhere. It took a bit of coaxing to stick; I found that a sort-of “scrape and dab” motion worked best. I let it dry for a good 24 hours, just to be safe, and it is really nice and solid – not crumbly to touch.

A lot of Christmas villages use a simple mirror to simulate a frozen lake, but I think that looks too reflective. So while the snow effect paint was drying, I traced the mirror onto a clear plastic window sheet and cut it out. I then used the finest paper on a sanding block to rough up the window sheet. I sanded all over with circular motions. This gives it a cloudy look and obscures the mirror surface a bit while still allowing some reflection. 

Once the wreath base was dry, I used a low temperature hot glue gun to adhere the window sheet to the bottom. Since the mirror was a bit on the expensive side, I decided to not permanently alter it; so the “ice and snow unit” simply sits on top of it. A folded up white towel borrowed from my bathroom and some cloud-printed bulletin board paper completed my wintery scene.

It was fun getting back into a bit of crafting after my break. And I love the effect of the window sheet over the mirror – it’s just the right combination of cloudy and reflective for my taste.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

