New Restaurant Coming to Town

After months of planning, the long-neglected Seaside Restaurant is getting a much-needed face-lift. And Crabapple Crossings will be welcoming something new to the village’s culinary landscape: sushi!

Cooler1

“I’ve been wanting to open up my own restaurant for years,” says Owen Otter. “When I saw that the old Seaside Restaurant was up for sale, I felt like I finally had the opportunity to make my dreams a reality.”

cooler2

When asked about whether he thought a sushi restaurant could succeed in our small village, Mr. Otter was extremely optimistic. “I love traditional fish and chips as much as anyone. And I know some may find the idea of sushi a bit intimidating. But I think that once people taste it, they will embrace it. All of our fish is as fresh as you can imagine – as you may know, my wife Octavia is our town’s fishmonger and is awake bright and early on her boat. You can’t get more fresh than that!”

Of course, Mr. Otter also plans to offer some options for the less adventurous eaters in town. “Not all sushi is raw fish. Some is cooked. And we of course will have some really delicious vegetarian options.”

Although the restaurant is not quite ready to be open for business yet, this week’s delivery of a special sushi case cooler gets Mr. Otter that much closer to the grand opening. “I can’t wait to open my doors and share my love of food with everyone!”

restaurant1

 

It’s been a while, hasn’t it? I have been so incredibly busy that I haven’t been able to spend much time in Crabapple Crossings, and projects have been relegated to the back burner. My July was packed, and my August looks to be even more so! But I was able to find time to do a project for this round of Iron Craft. The theme was “Cool” – things to keep you cool, made with cool colors, or otherwise get you in a “cooling” mood.

I had an idea as to what I wanted to create, because I have been thinking about creating a sushi restaurant for probably almost a year now, since I first saw the Calico Critters Seaside Restaurant. But with all my other projects, it fell to the wayside. When I saw the “Cool” theme, though, I knew I could at least get started on the conversion by creating a sushi bar style cooler.

cooler3

The set came with a counter with a built-in grill – I think the restaurant is supposed to be in the style of a hibachi restaurant? This counter made a great base for my sushi cooler.  I didn’t want any of my changes to be permanent, so the cooler just sits on top of the base. It is made of thin foamcore board, plastic window sheets, and cardstock. 

The items inside the cooler are a mix of handmade and pre-made items. On the left is supposed to be a piece of tuna, made from polymer clay. The two shellfish came with the seaside restaurant. The salmon is polymer clay. And on the left is a bowl of “scallops.” The bowl is from a different Calico Critters play set, and the scallops are the filling from a Dollar Tree baby rattle favor. No, I did not come up with it myself, this person of Flickr gave me the idea. (She has tons of other great ideas for minis, too!)

It was overall a fun project, and it makes me excited to continue furnishing the sushi restaurant. I’m not really planning that many big changes, mostly just making lots of tiny sushi!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

