End-of-Season Sales

With winter finally coming to an end, the warmer temperatures and longer light mean that winter necessities, like stoves are available for best “deal of the year” prices.

“Now is the best time to purchase a new stove for next winter’s long nights,” says Herman Hopper, whose years of experience in trade have given him lots of economic know-how. “Many manufacturers are looking to sell off this year’s remaining stock so that they’ll have space in their warehouses for next year’s newest models. So if you aren’t too set on getting the newest and fanciest, you can get a great deal.”

stove2

He, himself has decided to partake in the wonderful discount. “This little beauty cost me 40% of its retail price, and it’ll keep my cottage warm and bright for years to come.”

Citizens interested in discounted stoves or other winter gear can look to our pages for all the latest ads and sales.

 

This round of Iron Craft was an especially fun assignment: Hometown History. This year I moved back to my hometown, so I was especially excited to celebrate its history with a mini project.

I live in a small town in Michigan called Chelsea, which nowadays is known primarily as the home of Jiffy Mix. We also have an amazing library (best small library in the U.S. in 2008) wonderful local theater (The Purple Rose) and a downtown that is pure Americana. Chelsea’s community calendar was just recently featured on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert. It’s really a great town, and I can’t help but be a cheerleader for it. 

But looking to the town’s history, I had to go with it’s manufacturing past for my inspiration. In the late 19th and early 20th century, Chelsea was pretty much a company town for the Glazier Stove Company. So I decided to make a miniature version of one of Glazier’s “Brightest and Best” stoves. The best images of these stoves are from one of our local photographers. 

I took a little bit of inspiration from several of the stoves featured. My mini stove is made almost entirely out of cardstock paper. I punched circles of various sizes, then stacked them and glued them together. Then each layered unit received a very thin strip to cover the edge. Some silver foil paper details made my stacks of circles more stove-like. Painted beads for the feet and a tiny Styrofoam ball cut in half, painted, and glued to the top completed the project.  

stove1

Is this project the most realistic miniature stove? Certainly not. But I think it looks really cute in the corner of the cottage and helps give it an old-time cozy look. And it was so fun to make a miniature homage to the history of my little hometown. 

3 comments

  1. I think it is amazing! I love the stuff you come up with. It’s fun to find out you are another Michigander, I’m from Port Huron originally and my husband is from Kalamazoo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

