Miniature Lavender Tutorial

As promised, here is the tutorial for the lavender from Mrs. Mouse’s flower cart.

Lavender 7

I discovered this super simple craft completely by chance. I’m always wandering the aisles of the local craft store, looking for cute mini things for the village. But I never think to go down the baking supply aisle. I’m not really a baker, so I thought I wouldn’t find anything that would work. Well, was I wrong! I definitely need to make that aisle part of my usual route. Because I found these:

Lavender 1

Wilton Flower Stamens. These are items for making the centers of frosting flowers. They seem to be made of very thin wire, paper, and in the case of the kind I used, tiny bits of foam. I seriously hesitated about buying them. For $3.50, I thought they were kind of expensive, but after going back and forth about it, I decided to give them a try. And I’m glad I did. The package contains three different types: a glitter style, a pearl style and a fluffy style.

Lavender 2

Lavender 3

The stamens I used for this project have the “fluffy” texture at both ends. I didn’t want double-ended flowers, so I trimmed off one end. Unfortunately, I wanted long stems, so I was only able to get one flower from each. If you want shorter stems, you can cut them in half and end up with two blooms each. At least I kept the extra bits – they may make great bunches of grapes!

Lavender 4

I then painted the stems in the green that I wanted. I’m not especially particular about accuracy, more about overall look, so I just picked some green paint I had on-hand.

Lavender 6

I then used purple craft paint (actually the color I chose was called lavender!) to paint the bloom ends.

I’m so glad that I took a chance on this product. Out of all the flowers I made for the flower cart, these were by far (BY FAR) the easiest. And I think that when gathered all together in a container, they make a great, colorful impression.

Do you have a favorite material or craft supply that you use in a new or unconventional way? I’d love to hear about it!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

